Quartet Completes Craven Opener

The classy line-up for Belle Vue's highly anticipated season opener, the 2017 Peter Craven Memorial, is now complete following confirmation of the final four names by club management.

The Australian trio of Somerset's Josh Grajczonek, Sheffield's Todd Kurtz and former Speedway Grand Prix regular Troy Batchelor have all confirmed their services for the tasty April 1st event.

A special, final addition to the field is talented 23-year old James Sarjeant, who is the only rider to emerge from the collapsed Coventry Bees without a team to fall back on for the upcoming season.

Like former Belle Vue Ace Joe Jacobs, the two-time New Zealand champion is eager to prove he deserves a second shot at the 2017 campaign and will no doubt put 100% into his performance.

Josh Grajczonek & Troy Batchelor

Queenslander Grajczonek is a man with a rich collection of stints with the Aces stretching back to 2009, while this year he continues his extensive tenure with top flight newcomers the Rebels.

After typically serving the more southerly clubs, double Aussie Longtrack Champ Todd Kurtz, elder brother of Poole star Brady, is relishing the challenge brought about by his move north to Sheffield.

His fellow countryman Troy Batchelor, who boasts quite the impressive Grand Prix record, is also keen to kick off the season with a bang after rejoining King's Lynn for a second successive season

The official draw for the 2017 Peter Craven Memorial will take place at the club's upcoming 'Shakedown' event scheduled for Friday March 24th, 7:30pm at the National Speedway Stadium.

Members of the Belle Vue Aces and the Belle Vue Colts, plus team boss Mark Lemon, will also be present on the night, giving fans a unique opportunity to get a pre-season glimpse at the riders.

Tickets for the Belle Vue Shakedown on March 24th and the 2017 Peter Craven Memorial on April 1st are now available online via the club website. For more information, visit www.bellevueaces.co.


MAIN FIELD: Max Fricke; Justin Sedgmen; Kenneth Bjerre; Joe Jacobs; Rohan Tungate; Matej Žagar; Brady Kurtz; Charles Wright; Patrick Hougaard; Jason Garrity; Ricky Wells; Ben Barker; Todd Kurtz; James Sarjeant; Josh Grajczonek; Troy Batchelor

RESERVES: Tero Aarnio; Lee Payne

Photo - Ian Charles

Thursday 23rd March 2017