Craig Qualifies Comfortably

Belle Vue have secured their second representative in next month’s British Final after Craig Cook breezed through Thursday night’s semi-final at Sheffield and comfortably qualified on 10 points.

He follows Steve Worrall - who also qualified through on 10 points in the Newcastle semi-final - into the prestigious showcase of talent on June 19 at Manchester’s National Speedway Stadium.

l-r  Scott Nicholls, Kyle Howarth & Craig Cook

Local lad Kyle Howarth excelled on his home track in the SGB Championship and went on to win the meeting overall with 12, closely followed by seven-time British Champion Scott Nicholls on 11.

Lewis Kerr, Josh Auty and Chris Harris each put in an emphatic performance to progress through on 10 points each while a three-man run-off would determined the the seventh and eight positions.

Carl Wilkinson, Stuart Robson and Lewis Bridger all completed their five rides with 9 points apiece but a last-minute spill for Wilkinson saw him excluded and dashed his last hope of qualification.

With the two semi-finals now wrapped up, the sixteen qualifying riders will now get set to battle it out for full British championship honours on June 19 at the National Speedway Stadium.

As an added incentive for those competing, the winner of the grand final will also be heading to the British Grand Prix at the Principality Stadium in July as wild card, donning the No.16 race jacket.

Ticket information for the 2017 British Final will soon be available through


Semi-Final 2: Scores
Kyle Howarth 12, Scott Nicholls 11, Craig Cook 10, Chris Harris 10, Josh Auty 10, Lewis Kerr 10, Lewis Bridger 9, Stuart Robson 9 (After Run-Off - Top eight qualify for British Final)

Carl Wilkinson 9, Edward Kennett 8, Stefan Nielsen 7, Josh Bates 5, Simon Lambert 5, Robert Branford 3, Adam Roynon 2, Adam Ellis 0, Jack Parkinson-Blackburn (reserve) 0, Joe Lawlor (reserve) 0.

British Final Line-Up

Rory Schlein, Richie Worrall, Lewis Rose, Danny King, Jason Garrity, Steve Worrall, Paul Starke, Richard Lawson, Kyle Howarth, Scott Nicholls, Craig Cook, Chris Harris, Josh Auty, Lewis Kerr, Lewis Bridger, Stuart Robson

Photo - Ian Charles

Thursday 4th May 2017